Home Sports Mikel Returns As Super Eagles Release Provisional AFCON Squad
Sports - May 15, 2019

Mikel Returns As Super Eagles Release Provisional AFCON Squad

Emeka Nnaike

Super Eagles captain John Mikel Obi has been recalled to the Nigerian squad ahead of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt next month.

The 32-year-old, who has not played for the Super Eagles since he captained them at last year’s World Cup in Russia, makes his return amidst a trail of uncertainty on whether he would feature for the Eagles or not.

Also recalled to the squad is Leicester City striker Kelechi Iheanacho, despite enduring a patchy run of form due to lack of playing time.

Red-hot Villarreal winger Samuel Chukwueze and fellow under-17 World Cup winner Victor Osimhen are both included following impressive seasons for their clubs, with both looking to make their first tournament appearances at senior level.

The squad, made up of 25 players and six on standby, will take part in a training camp in Asaba from 2-9 June, before heading to the Egyptian city of Ismaila for a pre-tournament friendly against Senegal on 16 June, leading up to their group opener against Burundi on 22 June at the Alexandria Stadium, Alexandria.

Here is the full squad:
Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England)

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Middlesbrough, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjylland, Denmark); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal, Spain)

Standby: Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Ikouwem Utin (Enyimba); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal); Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly, Egypt); Valentine Ozornwafor (Enyimba FC).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Update: Senate confirms Justice Tanko Muhammad As CJN

The senate has confirmed the nomination of Justice Tanko Muhammad as the Chief Justice of …