Home News Senate Appoints Committee For Office, Seat Allocation
News - June 13, 2019

Senate Appoints Committee For Office, Seat Allocation

Osagbemi Anthony

The Senate on Thursday set up a 12-member ad hoc committee to liaise with management of the National Assembly for seat and office allocation to lawmakers.

Senate President Ahmad Lawan made the announcement after an hour-long closed-door session.

Lawan gave the committee two weeks to work to make arrangements for the Lawmakers to have permanent seats in the chamber as well as permanent offices.

He said: “I want to thank the committee in advance because the rest us will go on recess while they remain to liaise with the management on the allocation.

“Two weeks will be dedicated to the activities and other senators can make suggestions where necessary.”

Lawan announced Senator Abubakar Kyari (APC-Borno) as the Chairman of the committee.

Members of the committee are Senators Aisha Modibbo (APC-Adamawa), Gabriel Suswam (PDP-Benue), Abdullahi Sabi (APC-Niger), Betty Apiafi (PDP-Rivers), Bassey Akpan (PDP-Akwa Ibom).

Others are Barau Jibrin (APC-Kano), Ibrahim Gobir (APC-Sokoto), Nicholas Tofowomo (PDP-Ondo), Solomon Adeola(APC-Lagos), Chukwuka Utazi (PDP-Enugu), Stella Oduah (PDP-Anambra).

The Senate then adjourned plenary till July 2.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

BREAKING: Buhari Suspends HoS Oyo-Ita

By Jonathan Nda-Isaiah President Muhammadu Buhari has directed the head of service of the …